Friday, October 31, 2008

"it's legislative gay bashing"

-President Bartlet. Seems to be a lot of that going around now, eh?

If my strict adherence to heterosexual monogamy (see evidence of such all over bhousen's comment page) is the most conservative thing about me, i feel it necessary to reclaim my forward-thinking status with a quick post on my most liberal belief, at least by the currently low standards for such things, one that even the current rash of HOPE-ful dems refuse to touch. No, it's not my devotion to PBS and NPR, though if stereotypes make us, my source of entertainment has placed me firmly in the seriously socialist camp.
(incidentally, the WW episode in which Toby defends PBS is delightful. "In the meantime, a time when the public is rightly concerned about the impact of sex and violence on TV, this administration is gonna protect the Muppets! We're gonna protect Wall Street Week, we're gonna protect Live from Lincoln Center, and by God, we are going to protect Julia Child!" **love** okay, onward...)
Last weekend, as I was giving Bryce a really professional(-ish) looking haircut in our kitchen, and while listening, per above, to NPR, i heard something that made me so mad. (Holy, righteous anger being the new theme of this blog...delightful, eh?) Some complete arse from South Dakota, or one of about twelve rectangle shaped states that I don't give a damn about, and so mentally interchange oftener than not, was speaking out about the not-rights of gays and lesbians to adopt. Unsurprisingly, there is a ballot initiative to prevent "singles" from adopting, itself a ludicrous idea, made altogether more insidious by the fact that it has been openly acknowledged to be aimed at potential gay parents. He said, (essentially, but the quotes make it look more powerful) "Gay adoption is just another tool the gay community is wielding to fulfill its goal of world domination" or some shit. He did actually say that "gays are using children to forward their radical gay agenda," and, of course, didn't pass up the chance to allude to the children being abused. If Bryce wasn't my only friend, but instead some conservative i was giving this haircut, i may have stabbed him in the neck from outrage.

Even before my conversion away from the fanatical-blindness of my childhood, I had a firmly "liberal" stance on this issue. I remember being the only person in my sophomore Ethics course who was willing to provide the counter-argument for gay adoption; counter, at ACU, being against keeping children protected from that sinful environment. (Thank you, Dr. Trevathan, for making me talk in class...um and also for being my hero). I just honestly don't understand this line of thinking--"it alludes me" (CJ, on how a father might be embarrassed that his murdered son was gay). here's why i don't get it:

Josh "studies show children grow up best with a mother and a father" Amy: "studies show children grow up best with parents who Love Them."

Coming from a traditionally American unhappy home, I know exactly what its like to have one charming, lovely, loving, and one cold, controlling, son of a bitch for parents. Actually, this 50/50 split probably puts me at a significant advantage compared to many. Let's reimagine my childhood dreams of sugar-plums and divorce, and consider what those dreams would have looked like if i knew gays existed. (we weren't allowed to watch much tv. um, or see movies. er, or look at people with beer-slogans on their attire) Two moms? Dream come fucking true!!!

Seriously, when i think about the number of children for whom one or both of their parents didn't want them, i cannot fathom why we would not provide the opportunity for every couple/individual who sincerely wants a child, and who is willing to go through the agonizing adoption process and submit to screenings and interviews and eternal waiting periods to raise a child who needs them. I wish I could talk to this doltish-Dakotan and make him listen to reason, or better yet, to the laundry list of issues i now have from growing up in a straight, anglo, church 3-5 times a week, middle class home and see if they fit with how he imagines parenting "by a man and a woman" is supposed to turn out.

It makes me sad that our current crop of "liberal" democrats aren't doing more to address this issue. okay, aren't doing anything. When i saw Joe Biden outright agree with Sarah Palin about their stance on gay issues in the VP debate, I practically turned off the tv. ( and i would have, but it's a new kind that i don't know yet). I'll be voting for Obama, because I think he will be fantastic. Leaders--like the one he can potentially be--are exactly what will allow for change in this area. And I also know that there are many harms that need healing in the US, and he has the ability to begin that process. But i wish, i HOPE, that his administration will take the stand for gay issues that needs to be taken.
AMEN.

p.s. okay, i just looked it up. it was arkansas, which isn't so much a rectangle, as it is a stinking hell-hole shape.

5 comments:

Moriah said...

You're probably going to get tired of me commenting on your blog but I don't care. :-) I stayed home sick on Monday and I watched 7 hours of West Wing and it made me think of you. You and Bryce got Blake and I hooked on WW. When i finally got up off the couch I felt really sad. I miss watching that show and I miss those people. The first episode I watched was where CJ's Secret Service guys is killed and I almost cried. I want to be able to see Josh and Donna again soon... but I don't think that is going to happen.

Anonymous said...

well, kate, as i'm sure you're accutely aware, this issue makes me nauseous with anger.

but i was reading about prop 8 in califonia, and it was saying that most of the die-hard advocates of stripping gays of their rights are roughly james dobson's age.

I think we just have to wait for everyone old to die, and carve out change with the next generation. let's hope that the constitution doesn't have bans all over its ass before then...

it's a process, like bartlet said about change and drilling a hole or something? surely you know the quote...

incidentally, i'd really like to speak with you about west wing, post sorkin. if it doesn't get better soon (as in, people getting the shit kicked out of them the entire hour with a dark mood and the bouyancy and charm being dead or mute)...i'm going to cry.

Anonymous said...

Brava.

Katie said...

bhousen: it gets better...which elements are troubling you most? I'll tell you this...the funniest scene in the whole show (in my opinion) is in the 5th season...have you seen the episode "Privateers?" if not, hold on. If so, watch it again.
"A pirate, a pirate, oh yes, a pirate"

CJ+Amy+awkward Will= delight.

let me know how its going...

Anonymous said...

Katie, I love you. You're my very favorite rockin' hot old person.

But I do think it's funny that st8 people get more worked up about this than gay people do. We're sorta having fun being boogie-men, and think marriage was a special punishment for the breeders (no offense).

Just kidding, it's actually just so frustrating to see ballot measure after measure (and constitutional amendments? really? The next generation might have wanted to use that constitution for somethin' or another) leveled against us, that the apathy becomes overwhelming.

Prop8 may pass, but at least we have a spiffy new president that can form complete sentances, you betcha!

Hope you had fun with your election night celebration, we missed you in class!